After two months of writting, deleting and rewritting, here is finaly the first blog post about my way back in India. A special blog post for a special moment. India will always be India, whatever happens and that’s why I love this country. India confuses you, whether you are a neewby or an experienced India traveller. It keeps for you special suprises which will turn your certainties and plans upside down. When travelling in India, it’s time to let it go and follow this impredictible but delightfully enchanting indian vibe.

After this love letter to India, back to business. The plan was simple. I was going to stay one month in delhi – where I spent 9 wonderful month between June 2011 and February 2012 –  with 3 objectives : Volunteer in an hostel, learn Hindi and see friends. Once done, I just had to put my thumb up and take with me my recent Hindi learning to travel north of India by hitchhiking.

Back in India AND Chaos

Beleive it or not, Ganesh and Krishna didn’t plan a smooth landing and acclimatation for me. My plain landed few days after the national day “Diwali” (October 30th), reserved for firecrackers and dancing in the Indian Capital. 3 days later, pollution levels were 40 times the maximum authorized by the WHO and “only” 20 times when I arrived on the 10 of November. Fortunately, I avoided the mask mandatory period, I would have been a bit overwhelmed to look like a japanese tourist in the middle of the post-apocaliptycal Delhi smog.

Finaly, this “minor” sanitary issue will quickly be replaced in every mouth in India by an incredible news from the Indian government.

The (in)famous demonetization 

On the 8th of November at 8pm, Indian prime minister Narendra Modi, declared that from midnight all 500 and 1000 roupies notes will be banished and will have to be exchanged at the bank for smaller notes. India, a country ruled by cash where 50% of the population doesn’t have a bank account, just received a massive knock out.

Learning the piece of news the day before my departure, I tried to use my brain and spent my last hours in france withdrawing some cash to change it at the New Delhi airport. A good but finaly useless idea, as all the money exchange at the airport where out of cash at my arrival, 10th of November, 5 am. That’s when the Karma enters the game. A french guy I met in the planned proposed me to drop me at my hostel by Uber. As I entered the car, I couldn’t resist to thinking – with a very hypocritical compassion – about the 50 or more tourists blocked at the airport, cashless and without a phone to call their hotel.

Once arrived to my friend’s hostel Bed & Chai“, Coraline gave me some 4000 roupies in old notes and came with me to exchange at the bank. Karma again 🙂 Back in India and lucky

Queue ATM new delhi

The next few days have been realy rough for locals and foreigners. Banks and ATMs “attacked” by hundreds of people every day. It was not rare to see the ATM running out of cash on you after you stoud one hour in line for you precious pieces of paper.

The atmospere was tensed in the streets and in the foreigners hostels. For example, it was realy easy to guess who had money or not. If you had a beer in you hand, it meant “Oh fuck yeah ! I deserved so much for my patience at the ATM and fuck !! I have money now !”. On the other side, a glass of water meant “fuck this morron and his beer as I don’t have enough money to buy tomatos”.

Leaving and travelling in New Delhi is not the same

However, in the middle of this huge mess, something was missing since I was back in India. I didn’t have the opportunity to see my “long time no see” delhi friends. Normal when you think about it, I’m travelling and they are working. Some of them were excaping the smog on weekends and with all this money issue, they had a hard time too. Suddently it struck me, Delhi without friends and your daily routine work – party – sleep is absolutely not the same. Moreover, every monuments rates reached 500 roupies (50 for locals ) and as no body had money, not easy.

So it quickly became very clear, I was back in India, I had to move, to do what I came for, travel ! And so I left Delhi after 4 days to Jaipur in Rajasthan. Freestyle India, the only way.

Not a bad experience, just a welcome message from India

While reading this blog post, some might think that I regret passing through New Delhi. Not at all ! I enjoyed every moment from the exit of the plain to the old Delhi streets and meeting indians in ATM queues. It was just very different from what I imagined. I loved no being in my confort zone, I loved this ambiant chaos, I loved the indians ingenuity facing these issues and the most important, I loved receiving the message from India itself : “Welcome, wherever you come from, whoever you are, travelling here is not easy so move your ass and enjoy !”

Today I’m in Gokarna, alive and ssooo well ! Here are few pics from Delhi ! See you soon !

Après deux mois de rédaction, suppression, réécriture, voici enfin un premier article sur mon retour en Inde. Un article spécial pour un moment spécial. L’Inde restera l’Inde quoi qu’il arrive et c’est pour cela que j’aime ce pays. Toujours déroutante, que ce soit pour les novices ou les habitués, elle te réserve toujours des surpises qui bouleverserons tes certitudes et tes plans. C’est l’heure de lacher prise et de te laisser porter par cette vibe indienne, délicieusement imprévisible et envoutante.

Une fois le cadre posé, et cette petite déclaration d’amour faite, revenons au choses sérieuse. Le plan était simple. Je devais rester un mois à New Delhi, la ville dans laquelle j’ai passé neuf des plus beaux mois de ma vie entre juin 2011 et Février 2012 : faire du volontariat dans une auberge de jeunesse, prendre des cours d’Hindi et revoir les copains. Pour la suite, il suffisait de prendre la route avec mon pouce et mon Indhi rudimentaire pour parcourir le nord de l’Inde.

Retour en Inde Chaotique

A croire que Ganesh ne m’avait pas prévu une arrivée en douceur. Mon avion se posait à New Delhi quelques jours après la grande fête nationale « Diwali » (30 octobre), jour réservé à l’explosion de pétard en tout genre dans la capitale indienne. 3 jours après les niveaux de pollution était 40 fois plus élevé que le seuil maximal suggéré par l’OMS et à mon arrivée, le 10 novembre,  « seulement » 20 fois. Heureusement, j’avais évité la période de port de masque obligatoire, ça m’aurait un peu géné de ressemblé à un touriste japonais dans le brouillard de particules fines aux allure post-apocalyptique.

source : financialexpress.com 

Finalement, ce problème sanitaire « mineur » allait être rapidement remplacé dans toute les bouches du pays, qu’elles soit locales ou étrangères par un choix aussi curieux que soudain. du gouvernement indien. 

La fameuse démonétisation

Le 8 novembre à 20h, Narendra Modi, le premier ministre indien, annonce qu’à partir de minuit, tout les billet de 1000 et 500 roupies seront inutilisable dans les magasins et devrons être échangés à la banque contre des coupures de 100 roupies. L’inde, pays du cash où environ 50% de la population ne possède pas de compte en banque venais de prendre un sacré coup sur la tête.

C’est à ce moment là que, voulant utiliser mon intelligence, j’ai utilisé mes dernières heures en France pour retirer du cash, du flouze, du blé pour pouvoir le changé à l’aéroport. Cela ne servira finalement à rien du tout. Les money exchange de l’aéroport avaient été dévalisés pendant la nuit. C’est là que le Karma rentre en jeu, un français rencontré dans l’avion et habitant à Delhi me déposera en Uber à mon auberge. Je laissais donc la foule de toursites bloquée à l’aéroport sans argent pour payer le taxi et sans téléphone pour appeler leur hôtel avec plaisir et avec une certaine compassion hypocrite. 

Une fois arrivé à l’auberge « Bed & Chai » de mon amie Coraline, elle m’avancait très gentillement 4000 roupies en billets de 1000rs périmés que nous allions ensuite changer à la banque, Karma quand tu nous tiens 🙂

Parce qu’il faut dire que pendant les jours qui ont suivis, les banques et les ATM étaient assaillis par des centaines de personnes chaque jour. Il n’était pas rare d’attendre 1h en file indienne (\o/) pour voir le mec de devant retirer les derniers billets. La tension se faisait sentir dans les rues et dans les auberges de jeunesses. Tu pouvais facilement savoir qui avait pu retiré ou non. Une bière dans la main voulait dire « Ouais putain trop bien, cette bière vaut bien les deux heures de queues pour 2000 roupies de ce matin ». Un verre d’eau voulait dire « Et dire que l’autre con à côté boire de la bière alors que j’ai même pas assez pour m’acheter des pates ». 

Voyager et vivre à New Delhi c’est pas pareil

Au mileux de ce bordel ambiant, une chose me chagrinais depuis mon retour en Inde. Je n’avais pas eu l’occasion de revoir trop les copains. Bah oui, toi tu voyages mais les autres travaillent et n’ont pas forcément le temps de te voir. Certains fuient delhi le weekend pour éviter la pollution, d’autres sont pris par la grosse saisons des mariages (4 jours de mariage, ça déconne pas). Et du coup, New Delhi sans les copains, la routine boulot – resto – dodo c’est pas la même chose. Les prix des monuments ont tous atteint les 500 roupies (50 pour les indiens grrr), mais comme personne n’a d’argent ça et bien c’est pas évident. 

C’est donc devenu une évidence, il fallait que je bouge, que je fasse ce que j’étais vraiment venu faire, voyager. Je quittais donc Delhi pour Jaipur et le Rajasthan après 4 jours, avec 3 semaines d’avance sur mon planning. L’inde en freestyle, c’est parti. 

Pas une mauvaise expérience, juste un message de bienvenue

En lisant cet article, certains pourrons penser que je regrette d’être repassé par New Delhi. Pas du tout ! J’ai apprécié chaque moment dans cette ville, de la sortie de l’aéroport, aux rues du old Delhi en passant par les rencontres dans les files d’attente. Seulement très différemment de ce que j’avais plannifié. Bizarrement, j’ai adoré être en galère, j’ai adoré ce chaos ambiant, j’ai adoré la débrouillardise des indiens, et surtout j’ai adoré me faire rappelé par l’Inde elle même : « D’où que tu viennes, qui que tu sois, voyager ici n’est pas simple donc bouge toi et kiff ». 

Tiens des petites photos de Delhi pour la fin. La bise !